The General Faculty holds two meetings per academic year (Fall and Spring Semesters). The General Faculty consists of voting and non-voting members. Voting members include tenured and tenure-track faculty, faculty on leave, all full-time lecturers, full-time clinical faculty, full-time academic professional faculty, full-time research faculty, the President of the University of North Carolina, the Chancellor, the Provost, and all Vice Chancellors. Non-voting members include faculty emeriti, visiting faculty, writers-in-residence, artists-in-residence, part-time faculty, and adjunct faculty.

Other officials having responsibility for making and administering educational, research and student welfare policies may also be approved as members of the General Faculty.