

2023 - 2024 Annual Faculty Senate Committee Report

Submitted by Lisa Tolbert, May 1, 2024

Faculty Senate Committee Name: <u>Elections and Appointments</u>

Faculty Senate Committee Chair Name: <u>Lisa Tolbert</u>

Unit Representation:

Unit	First	Last	Term	Email
BRY	Harper	Roehm	2020-2026	HARoehm@uncg.edu
CAS	Lisa	Tolbert	2023-2024	lctolber@uncg.edu
HHS	Denise	Tucker	2021-2024	datucker@uncg.edu
JSN	Joseph	Starobin	2021-2014	t_ignato@uncg.edu
LIB	David	Gwynn	2023-2024	jdgwynn@uncg.edu
NUR	Kristen	Coble	2023-2026	kacoble2@uncg.edu
SOE	Nora	Bird	2021-2024	njbird@uncg.edu
VPA	Michael	Ananian	2021-2024	m_anania@uncg.edu
Senator	Dianne	Welsh	2023-2024	dhwelsh@uncg.edu
ExO, FS Chair	Tami	Draves	2023-2025	tjdraves@uncg.edu
ExO, Gov't.	Dayong	Huang	2023-2024	d_huang@uncg.edu
committee chair				

Academic Year Report Covers: 2023 - 2024

Date Prepared: <u>1 May 2024</u>

List of dates the committee met: (all meetings were in Teams)

<u>9-6-2023</u>

_11-20-2023___

_2-23-2024____

_4-1-2024____

List and briefly describe major accomplishments of the committee for the year:

- The committee experienced a leadership transition midway through the year. Tiffany Henry (LIB) chaired the committee in Fall 2023. Lisa Tolbert volunteered to chair in Spring 2024 when Tiffany needed to resign.
- Units completed election cycle for the 2022-2023 academic year to have elected/appointed representatives ready for the next academic year.
- Committee members were trained in reporting unit election results to the official Senate roster spreadsheet, with excellent administrative support from Shiori Yamaguchi, who also created the election ballots for the FS At Large elections.
- The committee conducted Faculty Senate AT LARGE Elections for the following positions:

FS Executive Committee: Chair-Elect and Secretary. As specified in the constitution, nominations for these positions were made by Faculty Senators.

Employment Hearings (1 position), Government (2 positions), UNCG Faculty Assembly Delegation (1 position)

- The committee sponsored a well-attended virtual Q&A session with the two Chair-Elect candidates on April 5, 2024. We invited faculty to submit questions if they were not able to attend in person and we recorded the session for distribution to the General Faculty.
- The chair reported results of the General Election to Faculty Senate on April 17, 2024 (see attached)

List any action items for future consideration (if applicable):

• Because most of the committee members will not be serving on the committee next year and we did not want this issue to fall through the cracks, we approved the following resolution presented for Senate consideration at the April 3 Senate meeting:

Be it resolved that, in order to ensure an informed electorate, the election procedures outlined in the instrument of governance should be amended for all elections going forward to require a Q & A session that includes candidates for elected Officers of the Senate and for all open seats on Committees composed of the General Faculty, to be held at a General Faculty meeting closest to the opening of election ballots, and that the Q & A session be recorded for faculty who may not be able to attend. The Senate approved the Q&A session scheduled for April 5, but tabled this resolution at the meeting on April 3. We recommend that the resolution be forwarded to the Government Committee for consideration.

Discuss strengths and opportunities for improvement:

• There will be several new members on the committee next year. The committee will need to identify a new chair early in the Fall semester. An early meeting is recommended for training on the charge of the committee and to address the committee responsibilities regarding FS apportionment.

Attachment:

Senate Elections and Appointments Committee Report 2024 Election Results

205 votes
125 votes

Secretary, 267 responsesStacey Krim (LIB)264 votes

Assembly Delegation, 299 responses

Gwen Robbins Schug (BIO)	50 votes
Sarah Daynes (SOC)	114 votes
Gwen Hunnicutt (SOC)	100 votes
Hamid Nemati	35 votes

Government (AT LARGE), 287 responses

Hemali Rathnayake (JSN)	166 votes
Mark Elliot (HIS)	182 votes

Respectfully submitted by Lisa Tolbert, Chair April 17, 2024